Creating Healthy Habits & BBG Update

Forming a new habit isn’t easy; in fact, the claim ‘it takes 21 days to make a habit’ is actually a myth. According to more recent scientific studies, it can take anywhere from 2 months to a year for someone to build a new behavior into their life. WHAT!? I thought 21 days was hard enough! This explains why most diets and workout routines often don’t stick–actually making something apart of your lifestyle takes TIME. So what motivates us to keep it up? I recently picked up the book The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg which explains the psychology behind how exercise habits emerge. In a study of 266 individuals that worked out at least 3 times a week, most of them continued to work out because they began to crave the reward of exercise. Over 92% explained that they habitually exercised because it made them feel good–they craved the endorphins and neurochemicals a workout provided. The sense of accomplishment from regularly working out was enough to make the physical activity into a habit. What if we focused more on the reward vs the challenge or making excuses?! Imagine how many more healthy habits we would develop!

BBG Progress 6

I’m attempting to work on a few habits…changing the toilet paper roll as soon as it’s done and cleaning dishes right away vs leaving them in the sink haha…but a new habit I’ve actually stuck with 100% is the Sweat With Kayla BBG program. For the past 4 months, I haven’t missed a workout: 6 days a week, 30 minutes to an hour depending. I kept up with BBG on a few vacations and doubled up on some days if needed. Prior to starting Kayla’s program, I did exercise regularly, but wasn’t committed to a certain routine. I would hit the gym/ exercise when I felt like it and if I was too busy or tired, I would just make an excuse and skip it.

4 months later, 17 weeks in, and I feel AMAZING! My body looks more toned than ever and I’m beyond happy with my progress. Interestingly, I haven’t lost weight; in fact, I’ve gained a few pounds (GASP! I’ll let that sink in…) This has reminded me the importance of NOT focusing on the scale, as my clothes DO fit better and I can see the added muscle in my glutes, hamstrings, arms, back, and legs. Strength training and toning is now more important to me than being a skinny-minny. I also don’t worry about the scale because I maintain a healthy balance of eating clean/ sticking to whole foods and being active. Consequently, I’m stronger, more confident, and not obsessed about my weight.

I’m currently on round 2 of BBG and loving the results! I plan to continue for at least a year and will post before/ after pics when I finish round 2. If you’re contemplating creating a healthier habit or amping your fitness routine–go for it! Focus on the reward and stick with a routine. You’re more capable than you realize and don’t let excuses hold you back!

Are you apart of the BBG fam? What workout or training program do you recommend? Please comment below with thoughts & feedback!

Leave a Reply

